6 thoughts on “The Impossible Dream: Marketing A Bent Curve

  1. I totally agree with you and history seems to bear you out. the first Bush lost because of a milder recession and, if I remember right, he made the argument that there was only so much he could do. My guess is that a lot of people who were knowledgable about such things, including some of his opponents, conceded the point. But the numbers were bad and he was gone. That said, I really do wish the administration had done more to communicate what was accomplished and to counteract the radically anti-government messages of the Republicans.

    1. Joe Loveland says:

      I agree. It does feel like they could have done a better job explaining the progress. Whatever they said, it didn’t work. Some poll findings:

      A new Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey finds that 49% of Likely U.S. Voters say the economic problems are primarily due to the recession which began under President George W. Bush’s administration. But 44% now feel the policies of President Obama are more to blame. When it comes to which party voters trust more to handle the issue of the economy, Republicans hold a 10-point advantage over Democrats, 49% to 39%.

  2. Mike Kennedy says:

    Loveland:

    Here is the best news I’ve heard all day.

    http://www.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/11/08/twinkie.diet.professor/index.html

    I work my butt off to keep fit, stay below double digit body fat and add new muscle, not only working out daily but watching what I eat.

    NOW they tell me. I can eat Little Debbie’s, Twinkies, powdered sugar doughnuts and all that good tasting stuff and not only keep weight off but keep my cholesterol and everything else low.

    I’m off to Super America to re-stock our pantry.

Comments are closed.