20 thoughts on “Introducing Gopher Coach Tim Brewster

  1. Dennis Lang says:

    Great interview! How did you ever dig all that out of reticent, introverted, soon to be coaching legend? And how about that ground game? This could be a team to make Glen Mason proud. Yup, thrilling to be an alum after a victory like that one.

  2. Joe Loveland says:

    I swear, that is what his interviews sound like to me. I could sooner split an atom than diagram his oh so enthusiastic sentences.

    1. Dennis Lang says:

      Yeah, but are you okay after coming up with “speaking faster than I can think now–run the spread offense, nine men in the box, gotta finish….” Your brain could now be forever fogged in cliches–linguistically twisted. I understand there are no certain remedies once afflicted.Pulling for you.

    1. Joe Loveland says:

      I hope he never leaves, I swear. As hard as it is to watch on Saturdays, his interviews make me whole.

  3. Dennis Lang says:

    JL’s parody of the troubled coach is classic, but in the wake of today’s Gopher defeat I can’t help but be saddened by the complete wreckage of a once noble program. I don’t think you have to be a fan of sport, only of the human condition, to feel the futilty of ultimately misguided personnel decisions, a significant investment in time and money, strategies originally thought logical failing, and all hopes and expectations now wheels up on the side of the road.

    1. Joe Loveland says:

      Agree. Though his hyperbolic enthusiasm makes him fun to parody, it’s important to keep it all in perspective. It’s a just game, and these are young men doing their best. I’m pulling for Coach Brew to have an outstanding tremendous fantastic turnaround.

      1. Dennis Lang says:

        So am I. Sadly, however, in four years there has been very little indication he was prepared despite his obvious passion and dedication to guide a major college program. Now, to start over with a new head coach and staff will require yet another five-year plan. Maturi is the tragic character in this drama, having to live with a decision that seems irretrievably doomed.

  4. Mike Kennedy says:

    Gopher nation has to be near the breaking point.

    This once proud program has sunk so low that the Edmund Fitzgerald would be easier to pull up.

  5. Mike Kennedy says:

    I’m told that they actually won the Rose Bowl when I was 2 years old.

    I don’t remember them being much good since I’ve been old enough to be aware of football, but the old timers tell me they used to be really good………Sid thinks they still are.

    1. Dennis Lang says:

      Why am I the only one in this vast blogosphere of Crowd adherents to remember the halcyon days of Bernie Bierman–and “the blood ran like wine in the November dusk”?

      1. PM says:

        maybe because not all of us are from here? maybe because not all of us are football fans? maybe because not all of us are as……no, I’m sure that isn’t it!

  6. Mike Kennedy says:

    Maybe Brewster could even move up a level. Look at Charlie Weis at Notre Dame.

    The ND faithful ran him right out of town; so he hooked on with the Kansas City Chiefs as offensive coordinator and they are 3-0 and look really good.

    1. Dennis Lang says:

      The Weis case is interesting and remindful of an article I read some time ago the gist of which was the idea that executives very succesful in one environment would automatically be succesful in another that required turn-around. This proved to be a fallacy of course (circumstances in the new environment often impossible to overcome) and Weis, a mastermind of offense, proved out of his element at Notre Dame. (I can’t remember, was that guy Apple imported from Coca Cola years ago a success?)

Comments are closed.