6 thoughts on “Off the record? Really?

  1. Ellen Mrja says:

    Here’s the stupidest line from the post:

    “The list is confidential,” said one member who, in typical fashion, declined to be named for this article. “Whoever broke the confidentiality of the list obviously has no respect for some pretty basic journalistic norms. But I can’t talk about it because it’s supposed to be confidential.”

    I am, indeed, scratching my head. Aren’t journalists supposed to be agents of freedom of the press? Freedom of speech? Transparency? Openness? Democracy? Inclusion?

    What a bunch of whiny third-graders. If I were Weigel, I’d publish the entire list of secret crypt members.

  2. john sherman says:

    I don’t understand Weigel’s offense. He was hired to cover the conservative movement, and in his heart he thinks some of them are assholes and some are idiots, so what? If thinking that Drudge is a decent human being and that Rand Paul followers are geniuses is a requirement for someone to cover the conservative movement, I don’t know where the Post would find anyone worth reading.

    Does it go the other way? Will, for example, FOX stop covering Obama because various of its commentators have said false and defamatory things about, most recently comparing him to Hitler?

    1. I don’t think his offense is significantly different than Helen Thomas’ recent gaffe. It’s not so much that he believes these things; it’s that he said them, and now their part of the public record.

      And in that regard, I think this is silly. I’d rather know what a journalist’s biases are than pretend he doesn’t have any.

    1. john sherman says:

      Is it entirely clear that he’s a liberal; the few times I’ve seen him has been on Olbermann, and he’s come across as well to the right of Olbermann, though one could be to the right of KO and still be a liberal. Still, the people who parse these things claim that he’s a centrist with libertarian leanings–he came to notice in Reason magazine didn’t he–who’s fed up with the yahoo wing of conservativism.

      Only conservatives get to be angry? Ed Schultz is the angriest liberal media figure I can think of, and he’s practically a zen master compared to Beck and Limbaugh.

Comments are closed.