Journalism or “just blogging”? I know it when I see it

THIS POST HACKED.

– The Mgmt.

 

About Mike Keliher

I play guitar and love semicolons. I read Rolling Stone to argue with the “National Affairs” section and watch Bill O’Reilly to remind myself how not to argue. I’m roughly 1/6 the age of my colleagues here – and roughly 1/6 as smart. But I write well and they fell for it. As a student, I served on the national leadership committee of the Public Relations Student Society of America. I was the editor of the association’s newspaper while also serving as the opinion section editor for the University of St. Thomas’ Aquin newspaper. For the past four years, I’ve worked at a small, smart and interesting public relations firm called Provident Partners. Before that, I grew up in and managed a hardware store, built Web sites, worked in tech support, and played a lot of baseball. I still do all of these things with varying levels of professionalism. I wear shoes as a little possible.

3 responses to “Journalism or “just blogging”? I know it when I see it

  1. We’re getting closer.

    It’s still “I know it when I see it,” but at least we’re nailing down the part that helps you declare when YOU see it.

    We might differ in our subjectivity, but I would dare say this post is an effort in the direction of showing our process is the same in arriving at our subjective answers.

  2. john sherman

    Can we first decide whether or not the people who write the news stories and the people who appear on the editorial and op-ed pages are both journalists?

    I’d say the range between the best and worst journalists is narrower than the range between the best and worst bloggers, but th ere’s considerable overlap. The blogs I tend to read are either news aggregators or ones written by experts in their field of expertise.

  3. An instance in which the definition of a journalist really matters:

    http://gizmodo.com/5524843/police-seize-jason-chens-computers

    In California, you can’t do this to a journalist, but what rule to police use to determine who’s a journalist? Do you have to be a newspaper reporter? What if you work in the news division of a newspaper organization but only create video content for the website? What if you’re an anchor for the local news 10 o’clock broadcast. Do college-newspaper journalists count?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,894 other followers

