What Should Tiger Do?

Tomorrow, unless something more newsworthy happens (which – let’s face it – wouldn’t take much), I’m supposed to be on local talk  radio WCCO-AM to talk with hosts Susie Jones and John Hines about, “What should Tiger do?” At 20,000 articles, 17,000,000 Tweets and God knows how many “Can you believe it?” conversations, what’s left to say about the situation? What could I say that hasn’t already been said to death and beyond?

How about, “He doesn’t have to do anything.”

Really.

Tiger Woods does not need our good opinions to live the rest of his life in sybaritic splendor.  He doesn’t need a 90% approval rating to play professional golf and to win tournaments.  He doesn’t need to regain his squeaky clean image to make money through sponsorships and endorsements.

The question isn’t what should Tiger do, it’s what does he want to do?

Continue reading “What Should Tiger Do?”

Tigers Having Sex In The Woods (VIDEO) – Part 2

Author’s note: I wasn’t intending on posting this, but in the course of putting together the post about “What Should Tiger Do?” that follows this one, I wrote up the ‘graph of how I came to know of this tomfoolery and even recreated a graphic to illustrate it.  When I was done with the larger post, this stuff no longer fit but I was reluctant to throw away perfectly good content.  As a result, I’m recreating in miniature the same shameless SEO gaming I poke fun at to see if it works.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

– Austin

Marketwatch‘s Jim Bernard, a speaker at David Brauer‘s #ofon gathering about the future of news, noted the Huffington Post had put up an item featuring a video of tigers (not Tiger) mating in a natural setting.  This was enjoyed for what it is – a blatant example of trying to game the search engine algorithms – that has been ridiculed elsewhere as well. It’s particularly fun to note the terms the post is tagged with (see the call-out in the image below), particularly the “green news” add at the end of the list.

It will be interesting to see what the same blatant exploitation of this situation does for us here at the Crowd.

– Austin

The Holiday Spirit, To Whom It May Concern

We tackle all the controversial communications issues here at our little blog. But hold onto your mouse, because this is the hottest of the hot.

Holiday form letters: Love ‘em or hate ‘em?

Now, I’ve heard your snarky comments about those holiday letters filling your mailboxes these days. And sometimes I have a tough time with them too.

I’m a caring friend, so I really do want to know how little what’s-his-name is doing. But I could live without the selective reporting about his mensa ways.

I am glad to hear that your Nanna is a special part of your life. But I don’t need the details about her gastrointestinal health.

And of course I care about the basics of your life trajectory. But it’s not neccessary to give extravagant accounts of your fabulous vacations, luxury purchases, civic virtues and professional advancements.

So, holiday letter haters, I feel your pain. I do understand the art form is not always executed flawlessly. But given the choice of receiving 1) nothing; 2) a card with just a signature or 3) a holiday form letter, I prefer to find the pre-fab letters in my mailbox, warts and all.

Continue reading “The Holiday Spirit, To Whom It May Concern”

In’venting Na’vi

You’re making a movie about “people” from some fantastical, far-off land, you have a $300 million budget, and you want your made-up characters to be convincing. These blue creatures who star in the movie Avatar are computer-generated, so there’s not much of a need for acting classes. Instead, why don’t you pay a linguistics professor to invent a language?

That’s what director James Cameron did.

“He wanted a complete language, with a totally consistent sound system, morphology, syntax,” Frommer says. And “he wanted it to sound good — he wanted it to be pleasant, he wanted it to be appealing to the audience.”

So now, the Na’vi language exists. And if this movie is as successful as it promises to be, we should soon see the proof that Na’vi has transitioned from fictional word gimmick to legitimate language: a Hamlet of its own.