Hey, Senators! VP or Not VP?

That’s the question The Hill newspaper put to just about the entire Senate, one by one. Specifically:

“If you were asked, would you accept an offer to be the VP nominee?”

So, let’s see. Perfunctory answers from the Minnesota delegation:

Sen. Norm Coleman (R-Minn.)
“No. I’m up for reelection and I’ve got the guy who should be vice president. He’s my governor [Tim Pawlenty (R)]. My governor is my candidate.”
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)
“No. I’m focused on being a senator from Minnesota.”

Others range from fun…

Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.)
“Absolutely. Absolutely. I think I would be great. First of all, I know how to behave at weddings and funerals. And I know how to be commander in chief. I’d bring a lot of fun to the job. We would rock the Naval Observatory.”

… to cagily circumspect…

Sen. Evan Bayh (D-Ind.)
“It’s presumptuous to even speculate about that kind of thing. But I suspect that’s not the sort of thing you say no to.”

… to candid…

Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.)
“Are you kidding? Every senator would accept that offer. My guess is that almost every senator looks at themselves in the mirror in the morning and sees either a future president or vice president.”

… to sort of existential.

Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
“The chances of that are so remote that I’m more likely to be hit by an asteroid.”

Dig the other 91responses here.

[via MSNBC]

— Hornseth

3 thoughts on “Hey, Senators! VP or Not VP?

  1. Did you see this one?

    Sen. Larry Craig (R-Idaho)
    “I would say ‘No, Hillary.’ ”

    So he’s saying his wide-stanced money is on Hill? Normally, I’d applaud the non-partisan approach, but in this case, I can’t help but think he’s just pissed at his own party for hanging him out to dry.

Comments are closed.