Huh, Hillary IS a Human, and Humans are OK

When will candidates learn to fire their advisors and be themselves?

Here’s Hillary Clinton today being a human being. Listen and watch — she’s showing us what she cares about. If she’d been this way before today she might not be so far behind Obama, who, at his best, shows himself to be a human being pretty regularly.

Rudy Giuliani was a dreadful public speaker until a man named Elliot Cuker got to him, according to an August 20, 2007, New Yorker profile. Cuker is a member of the Actors Studio, and told Giuliani, “Just talk to the people. Connect to the people.” And Giuliani now, at his best, is a pretty engaging speaker.

Bob Dole, who ran a dreadful campaign, was fabulous on The Tonight Show after he lost his run for president. If that Bob Dole had been the guy running for president, he’d have had a better chance.

Be yourself. It’s the only person most of us are any good at being. And talk about what matters to you, and tell us why you care. Then we can see inside.

-Bruce Benidt free payroll calculator kind

7 thoughts on “Huh, Hillary IS a Human, and Humans are OK

  1. Bruce,

    To you, Hillary’s teary eyes made her look human. But I think to many who have paid attention to her campaign since it stated, it appeared fake, planned or staged.

    How could I be so critical of a candidate’s emotions? Let’s look back to when Hillary hit all the Sunday network news shows in late summer or early fall.

    In each interview, she seemed to have “placed” a laugh at certain times during the banter with Tim Russert, Bob Schieffer, etc. While a laugh isn’t illegal during an interview, her “placed laughs” were after questions that, I think, didn’t warrant a laugh or were actually inappropriate times to.

    In short, a person is smart and people are stupid. But it doesn’t mean people are suckers for fake emotions or someone trying to show they are human when they really act like a droid.

    Just my take. Enjoy with a grain of salt.

  2. She may be human, but will she iron your shirt?

    It’s hard to know what’s real with anyone sometimes, let alone a presidential candidate. But I agree that some semblance of honesty is always an improvement.

  3. And Al Gore has done a pretty passable imitation of himself since losing the election (or, winning the election, but not moving on to the Presidency). I’ve heard you say this for a long time – applies to business people, doctors, lawyers, and the all the rest of us.

  4. Matthew says:

    “Over the last week I’ve listened to you, and in the process, I’ve found my own voice.”

    Bruce, I want to think like you for a little while. So, I’ve been reading your blog a lot recently.

    You see, if I did think like you, you would like me more. You would believe me more often, you would listen to what I have to say, you might even forgive me for that time I shot you in the leg with a bottle rocket at the lake, heck, and you would probably even support me in whatever I decide to do next in my life. But that’s neither here nor there.

    Tonight was a clear indication to me that nothing is ever going to change in Washington. We have the same DC politicos, trying to convince people to vote for them, rather than to vote for an idea that people believe in.

    Hilary would have a better shot convincing me that she’s not a vote hungry robot on the campaign trail if Bender (the robot) from Futurama had delivered her speech this evening.

    Who are you when you’re leading a campaign that has to change the message consistently, just to keep pace with everyone else? Are you really staying true to yourself and what you believe?

    I’m looking forward to Hilary’s message (or messages) on Super Tuesday. Will she present one unified idea to everyone? Or will she present a fractured message across the country in an attempt to gain the most votes in each specific area?

    I doubt that Hilary will remember that John Schmidt in Rutland, NH voted for her this evening. But I can guarantee that Obama will remember the thousands of people who turned out to say, “We Believe in Change.” No matter what the underlying change may be, we want and believe in change.

    I for one am hopeful for change, the type of change that invigorates my mind, convinces me to believe in a country that I want to believe in, and inspires every American to live a prosperous life, while giving back to the world in which we live.

    I am hopeful for change; I just hope there are others out there as well.

  5. Great discussion on Hillary and what’s real. I’m posting a great Maureen Dowd piece on Hillary in the next main post — and a Dave Berry piece of wisdom as well.

    Matthew, because the Bottle Rocket Shooters Union may endorse me, I’m forgiving you for shooting me in the leg. I love hearing your quest for belief and change — not change for change’s sake, but to change course from assuring those who already have plenty get more to working toward opportunity for all. I feel your pain, man (apologies to Clinton 1).

  6. MIA says:

    BO’s biggest problem may be Edwards rather than the vaclempt NY Senator. If Edwards dropped out, arguably 60% of his vote goes to Obama. (Edwards and Obama currently split the anti-establishment/dynasty/”incumbent” vote.) 60% of Edwards’ 48,000 NH vote hands NH to Obama. The Clintons complain about “the boys ganging up” on her, when in fact the fact that the “boys” continue to be plural may be her biggest electoral advantage.

  7. Dennis Lang says:

    As attractive and inspiring Mr. Obama is as an orator, isn’t anyone troubled by his lack of expression so far for the rudiments of policy concerning specific issues–and annointing someone with three years legislative experience the most powerful position in the free-world? Of course, as I write this (today) I’d throw caution to the winds and give him my vote–I also like Frank Capra movies.

Comments are closed.