Confessing My Inner Geek

In the category of stating the obvious, I’m a nerd. I love gadgets, I think computers are very cool, I like being connected in a dozen different ways. I love “all-access” passes not so I can hobnob with the celebs but so I can sit at the sound board or watch the lighting engineer or hang out on the catwalks with the riggers. When I went to Disney World a couple years ago my family was embarrassed – although not surprised – when I walked around with a scanner in my back pack tuned to the frequencies used by park personnel.

In my office at F-H I have seven TVs.

Now, there’s a tourist guide for people like me. I heartily recommend Top Secret Tourism by Harry Helms, a guide to “germ warfare laboratories, clandestine aircraft bases, and other places in the United States you’re not supposed to know about.” I’ve spent part of the weekend reading about places like the Dugway Proving Ground in Utah, Mt. Weather in Maryland and – of course – Area 51. And, for extra crunchy nerdiness, I’ve been supplementing my reading by looking up these sites on Google Earth (one of the best nerd applications on the planet).

Given the world we live in, it wouldn’t surprise me that this combination of behaviors has triggered several levels of interest from the really big computers at the NSA (also in the book) that sift – oh – everything for patterns that may point to “persons of interest”. Hopefully, they have fit this recent behavior into my overall profile (the one labeled “harmless nerd”). Otherwise, if I should suddenly fall out of sight, it probably means th

One thought on “Confessing My Inner Geek

Comments are closed.