2012 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2012 annual report for this blog. (And they wrote that line of copy for us.)

I thought it’d be fun to take a look back at the year that was. Onward!

Here’s an excerpt:

19,000 people fit into the new Barclays Center to see Jay-Z perform. This blog was viewed about 100,000 times in 2012. If it were a concert at the Barclays Center, it would take about 5 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

22 Responses

  1. Well, that was nice….

    but here is my favorite “Year in Review” story so far:

    http://www.theatlanticwire.com/entertainment/2012/12/looking-year-we-needed-onion-most/60429/

    (trying to keep my lead over Erik….)

    • It’s self comforting to know I didn’t lead in comments

      • Now that’s funny, Erik.

        I actually want to thank you, PM, Newt, Jim Lenfelder, Mike Kennedy, for keeping us on our toes.

        But there’s also Dennis Lang, Jeremy Powers, bertram, bertram jr., Bertram Sr. (I’ve never been convinced those are 3 separate people), Minnesotan, Janey Palmer, Son of Mississippi, John Sherman, Mike Thomas, Iowan, momkat778, Expatriate, DC, Werle, politicalgravitas, and lots of other people I hope I don’t offend by my lack of memory. Without you, this place would not be Rowdy at all.

        Happy New 2013. I’m glad we all made it through 2012.

  2. [...] 2012 in review (thesamerowdycrowd.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. 2013 is the year I heal all you liberals. That’s my resolution.

    • Cool!

      Will you be laying on hands? or giving us pills? or some form of therapy?

      I, at least, am looking forward to it! (I assume that you will continue to charge less than my shrink….)

      BTW, thanks, to all you convenors here at the SRC!

    • You’d really impress if you had enough courage of your convictions to come out from behind your nom de troll in 2013, “Newt.”

  4. Leinfelder,

    My nom de plume is now revealed. I am Newt d’Arenbourg. I reside in Lichtenstein. I am heir to a banking fortune. Though I possess dual citizenship, I travel between Lichtenstein, Grand Cayman and Sioux Falls, careful to avoid taxation in low-information states like CA, NY and MN.

    Thank you, Newt

    P.S. Now I wish for PM to unveil himself (away from children, please).

    • Uh-huh, right, thanks Newt. But the richness of your fantasy life has never been a question in my mind.

    • Damn it, Newt, you are forcing my hand!

      I am Mary Paulson, and i am a prostitute, and i will only reveal myself to SRCites over lunch or a beer…ask Lambert and Mike for confirmation!

      PM

  5. Sorry. I am preparing for the Caux Roundable, and I won’t have time to meet with liberals.

  6. Love the three way with Newt/Leiny and PM…the conversation, I mean. Happy New Year to all SRC characters. What do you know? The Mayans were wrong. We are still here. The world didn’t end and neither did we zoom off the Fiscal Cliff. Europe is still hanging on, the east coast survived a disaster, the election came and went without armed insurrection and Chavez is nearly dead (proving without a shadow of a doubt that there really is a God).

    Best of all, capitalism continues its march to making developing countries richer….and consequently, us as a result. Profits abound for great companies and the markets are looking forward and reacting favorably. Good times are ahead, despite the cowardice of the Congress and the administration on enacting any meaningful tax and spending reform. We have had two presidents over a total of 12 years pay lip service to curtailing spending. But then, did anyone really expect anything different from bought and paid politicians?

    Ah, but I’m not letting that shit show ruin my optimistic outlook for the future. I even admit to be somewhat entertained by Boehner telling Reid to go F…. himself, twice.

    So, onward and upward from the hype and invented crisis of the Fiscal Cliff. Debt. Schmet. Another $4 trillion in debt. What the hell.

    I’m just hoping the economy is strong enough to get us out of the debt mess or at least on the right track. As Aragon says in the Lord of the Rings trilogy “there is always hope.”

  7. Lest I sounded like a tad of a pessimist….which I detest, I just read this piece on why 2012 was the best year ever. I’m keeping a copy of this close by to counter all the bullshit that gets everyone’s undies in a bundle.

    http://www.spectator.co.uk/the-week/leading-article/8789981/glad-tidings/

  8. Oh, as an aside, saw Zero Dark Thirty the other night….loved it.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,897 other followers

